Home » News of the Day » Leaders of CSTO countries adopt some documents at summit in Moscow

Leaders of CSTO countries adopt some documents at summit in Moscow

Heads of the Collective Security Treaty member states signed some multilateral documents at the summit that took place in the Russian capital on Monday.

They included a statement of the Collective Security Council in honor of the 30th anniversary of the treaty and the 20th anniversary of the organization.

Russian President Vladimir Putin said earlier it’s planned, among other things, to sign a joint statement, which, taking into account the experience gained during the peacekeeping operation in Kazakhstan, will confirm the determination of the CSTO countries to continue to cooperate as partners in various areas of military and defense development and to increase coordinated action on the international stage.

The meeting was attended by Putin, Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan, President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko, President of Kazakhstan Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, President of Kyrgyzstan Sadyr Japarov and President of Tajikistan Emomali Rahmon.

The CSTO is an international security organization including six member states: Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The Collective Security Treaty was signed on May 15, 1992 in Tashkent.

The Collective Security Council is the supreme body of the CSTO. It includes the heads of the states that are members of the organization.

Comments are closed